top of page

Skullgirls Mobile Review

Normally, I don't play fighting games. I usually focus on RPGs or adventures. However, I had heard many good things about Skullgirls, so when the mobile game came recommended under the category of "Role-Playing", I was a bit intrigued. I played for the last week of January before the troubles.

Early on, in February, there was a massive debacle, which kept the game down for almost an entire week. At least as much as I remember.

Thankfully though, through the developer team's efforts, the game was back up and running with compensation and restored accounts to most, if not all, of the players.

I was not so fortunate. However, since I'd only been playing a week, I didn't feel as impacted as others may have. Instead, I actually felt slightly glad. I had made a lot of bone-headed decisions, and this gave me a chance for a fresh new start with some increased character pool.

So far, I've been playing for a month, and it has me coming back every day. The controls are easy to understand and the tutorial gives a quick rundown of the basic movements in a simple manner.

My only problem was that the tutorial splits the basic moves, such as; three-hit-combos, blocking, dashing/dash attacks, throws, and special moves (I think I got them all). After you finish the first area of the story, you're allowed to learn the rest of the moves in a separate tutorial zone.

You may very well learn many of the advanced tactics while you fight through the first nine battles. After which, you'll be taught to; throw escape, launch, and pursue (Pursue is chasing a launched target to continue a combo. I'm sure there's another word for it, but that's what I'm using.). It's very minor, but I would have liked to have learned those moves before being hit by them.

Still though, it does not take away from the rest of the game. The story so far is great, punctuated by the origin stories which become available when you hit level 20. Daily events are enjoyable and keep you gaining much needed special moves/block busters for specific characters, dependent on the day. But what I'm most impressed with is the prize fights, also known as a PvP Arena.

As this is my first review, I'll state it here; me and PvP have a really bad history. This is mostly due to MMOs, where players would sit and gank lower level players or join in while others fought elite mobs.

However, I found myself enjoying the prize fights, even to the point of not caring as much when I lose. This probably has to do with the fact that you don't actually lose much significantly when it does happen. Mainly just your streak.

Things I hope to see going forward - as well as suggestions - would be a social tab to have friends, which could coincide with a real-time PvP match. As long as both players are online, of course. Second would be the ability to choose my displayed avatar. Although it doesn't matter much at the moment, the displayed character is always your highest level/BP. In my case, it is UltraViolent Peacock. She wears my colors (gold and purple), so I don't care much. Lastly is something I've found myself coming up against, and that is the special move/block buster collection. At the time of this review, you are allowed four hundred of these moves in your inventory, which should be enough for anyone. I am currently pushing 300+.

This is mainly due to me saving even my bronze grade moves for their additional effect, even if I have a higher level of the same move.

I'd like a way to either expand this inventory or a way to upgrade lower grade moves into a higher grade, thereby keeping the additional effects such as attack percentages and elemental bonuses. Alternatively, maybe if there was a way to shuffle bonuses for TheoNite (the premium currency).

Other than that, I highly recommend Skullgirls Mobile as one of the better games on mobile that I've played. It has kept me invested and entertained by its colorful cast of characters and narrative. I only wish I would have tried it sooner, and eagerly look forward to new updates.

Until next time, thank you for visiting and I hope to see you again.

Veinexes

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page